Sunday, June 20, 2010

Van Tol A Double Winner At Orland

Some information was posted at the Orland Speedway site, so I decided to throw something together to help the cause. However, not all of the names were available. Not sure I'll continue to do this. I would hope a fan would take up the cause much like people like Gary Jacob and Ron Rodda have done in the past and start writing.

Orland is the prefect opportunity for a new writer to step in and do something without getting too overwhelmed. It's that sort of effort that can only grow car count and help the overall cause as they continue to build things up there.

Jake Van Tol was the star of the night at Orland Speedway as he collected two feature victories on the evining in Mini Truck and Pure Stock competition as part of a four division program that also included Mini Stocks and Wingless Spec Sprints. Running two divisions is nothing new to Van Tol, who won championships in Mini Trucks and Modified 4 Cylinders at the track in 2007.

The Mini Trucks produced a seven truck field, and Van Tol swept through the event by winning the Trophy Dash after holding off Dan Webster to win the heat race. In a repeat of the previous week's feature, it was Van Tol and Webster picking up another 1-2 finish. Ross Vige scored a third place finish in front of an unidentified driver in #11 (Brandon Miller was the last driver to run that number in this class at the track) , an unidentified driver in the #00t truck and Steven Woods. Kevin Pendergrass failed to start the feature after a last place heat race finish.

There were three unidentified drivers in the Pure Stocks, and it was the driver in the #18 car winning the Trophy Dash. Van Tol bested the six car field in the Main Event, followed by the #7k car, #18, Jimmy O'Reilly, previous feature winner Clay Ralls and the #73 car.

The seven Mini Stocks ran two heat races with Don Runkle winning his heat ahead of Jarod Flower and Eric Hammond winning the second heat in front of Ken Johnson. Runkle also won the dash, but his hopes of a clean sweep ended in a disappointing fifth in the feature. It was opening day winner Hammond picking up a Main Event win ahead of Sean Perry and Preston Irvin. Former Modified 4 Cylinder champion "Rollin" Olin Crane finished fourh ahead of Runkle and Flower. After a second in his heat race, Johnson failed to start the feature.

The Wingless Spec Sprints had two unidentified drivers running up front in the Main Event. Former champion Josh Jacobo claimed the heat race win ahead of the #34j car (possibly Kenny Webber or John Rector, both of whom have raced that number recently at Marysville). It was the #7k car improving on the previous week's third place with a win over #34j, Jacobo and Pat Bisio.

After a week off, Orland Speedway returns to action on June 26th with Wingless Spec Sprints, Mini Trucks, Mini Stocks, 4 Cylinder Modified, BCRA Vintage Midgets and a kids bike race.