Monday, August 2, 2010

Busby Back In Winner's Circle At Antioch Speedway

Still didn't have much to work with for this one and again was debating if I even wanted to bother. I cobbled this together from a few places. As of this moment, the track's website is taking the Ted Knight from Caddyshack approach to posting results. In other words, "You'll get nothing and like it." Hopefully, they are just running late and will update soon. I may post more information here as I get it. As always, statistics post here are unofficial. Just wanted to get something out there about the latest race.

Racing was again on the schedule Saturday night at Antioch Speedway as a five division program closed the month of July at the three-eighth mile clay oval located at the Contra Costa County Fairgrounds. A four time champion from the 1990's, a newcomer and three point leaders collected the five Main Event victories as Scott Busby (Dirt Modifieds), Rowdy McClenon (Wingless Spec Sprints), Mitch Machado (Super Stocks), Brad Myers (Hobby Stocks) and Travis Dutra (Mini Trucks) were the winners in their respective divisions.

In the 1990's, Scott Busby was the man to beat in Dirt Modified competition, and through his efforts behind the scenes, he helped take this division to a higher level. The 2010 season has been a bit rough on Busby, though his #73 Harris Modified is still one of the fastest at the track any time he is there. The attrition of the previous race three weeks ago still took a toll on the car count as several drivers were not in action, and Nick DeCarlo decided to end his championship bid by racing at Maryville, where he finished third behind Randy McDaniel and Duane Cleveland. All three drivers will likely be at Antioch on August 28th when promoter John Soares Jr. puts up $3,500 to win. This will open a big weekend that has Soares putting up $3,500 to win at Merced on the 29th, and an additional $1,000 bonus to the driver who can win both races.

With several cars missing in action, racers like Bill Wallace, Chester Kniss, Mark Haas, Busby and a #8 car helped keep the division in double digits. Dan Gonderman ran a memorial lap with Larry Damitz, Bill Wallace, Randy Metzler and Eric Berendsen in tow, but I don't know who this was for. If anybody knows, please comment. There were two heat races, and Kniss and point leader Troy Foulger scored the victories. At some point during the Main Event, Busby tangled with Gonderman. As Busby led down the stretch and put a lap on Gene Haney, second ranked Jeff Thomas and Kniss battled fiercely for second. They came to the checkered three wide as Haney was being lapped, and contact put Kniss into the wall at the finish line. Busby was the winner, while Thomas just beat Kniss to the line for second. Unofficially, Foulger was fourth.

There were 13 Wingless Spec Sprints in attendance, and the night started off as usual for point leader Tommy LaLiberte as he collected a win in his heat race. Making only his second start this season, Roy Fisher won his heat race, and LaLiberte claimed Trophy Dash honors. LaLiberte was running up towards the front of the pack in the feature, but I'm not sure what happened. Chuck Bradshaw may have been up front early as well, but Rowdy McClenon and Jim Perry Jr. both made their way past him. McClennon is currently top five ranked at Chico, and he makes occasional visits to Antioch. This one paid off with victory as he forced Perry to settle for his third second place finish of the season. Perry has won many features at Antioch Speedway, but the third ranked driver is still searching for his first win of this season. David Press kept his title hopes alive with a third place finish after a battle with steady rookie Tyler Hebriquez and Nick Larson. Larson would finish fourth as Hebriquez completed the top five.

There were ten Super Stocks on hand with the debut of the #9 car of Greg Fuss. They ran two heat races with fifth ranked Lloyd Cline collecting his second straight heat victory. Title hopeful Larry Damitz was the other heat winner. The Main Event saw "Rookie Of The Year" hopeful Fred Ryland, two time Street Stock champion Michael Newman and point leader Mitch Machado battling for the victory. Machado would prevail at the end ahead of Ryland and Newman. Two time Limited Late Model champion Lori Brown may have had a top five finish, but that is unofficial.

The Hobby Stocks saw two new cars, #8 of Dave Lincoln and #43 of Nick Biscusi, debut to put them back up to ten cars for the night. The top two feature finishers of the previous race, Dan McCown and Wes Bentley, collected heat race wins. Fourth ranked Jim Freethy led the first few laps before the only caution flag of the race flew. He chose the inside on that restart, and impressive rookie Brad Myers put the point leading Team #33 car into the lead for good, lapping the #43 car and Pat Gooding down the stretch. Second and third place both received plaques along with the winner, and those went to Freethy and Bently, respectively. Chris Sorensen finished fourth.

There were six Mini Trucks on hand for this race with the return of veteran Dean Cline. Point leader Travis Dutra won the heat race then set his sights on another feature win. Cline ran up front early before Dutra bolted into the lead. Cline battled with Dan Wagner and Ron Mayberry for a season best second place finish. Mayberry followed up last week's second with a third, and Wagner may have been fourth, unofficially.

Antioch Speedway hosts another five division show next week, featuring Dirt Modifieds, Super Stocks, Dwarf Cars, Four Bangers and the third and final 2010 appearance of the Nor Cal Vintage Hardtops.