Sunday, January 4, 2015

McDaniel Wraps Up West Coast Nationals With $2000 Chowchilla Victory

The checkered flag flew only moments ago, and we have an unofficial update on the winners.  This is unofficial.  As always, check out the Oval Motorsports Website for all of the official news from Chowchilla, Merced and Antioch Speedways.

Special Thanks to the All Modifieds Facebook Page for the live updates tonight.

A new episode of The DCRR Racing Radio Show has been included at the bottom of this post.

The "Let It Rain 50" at Chowchilla Speedway wrapped up the fourth day of the West Coast Nationals for IMCA Modifieds and Sport Mods Sunday night.  Taking full advantage of his front row start, Ryan McDaniel led all the way in the 25 Lap IMCA Modified feature to claim the $2000 first prize and a really nice Trophy.  Fred Ryland followed up his big $1750 win at Merced with an impressive $1500 triumph in the 25 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event.  The big trophies for the two winners were sponsored by Joe Carr Racing Chassis of Petaluma.  Coming off of his Merced Speedway Championship, Chris Corder started his season off right with a win in the Northern All Stars Four Banger Main Event.

Attrition had dwindled the Dirt Modified field down, but there were still enough cars to run three heat races and make up a full Main Event.  Ryan McDaniel won the first Modified heat ahead of Steven Noland and 2014 Willamette Speedway Champion Collen Winebarger.  The second heat race was a bit of a surprise as Stephen Hopf impressed with a win ahead of Thursday night Antioch winner Kellen Chadwick and Friday night Antioch winner Troy Foulger.  2014 Merced Speedway Champion Paul Stone was not a surprise as he collected the third heat race victory ahead of Bricen James and Alex Wilson.

McDaniel had the outside front row for the Dirt Modified feature with Foulger right behind him and Chadwick lined up in the fourth row inside.  The start of the race saw Foulger nearly flip and come to a stop in Turn 2.  Wilker spun in Turn 2 as McDaniel led Cody Laney and Noland.  Another yellow flag flew when Kyle Wilson, Brian Clark, and Tom Berry Jr. tangled in Turns 1 and 2.  McDaniel continued to lead Laney on the restart as Stone was riding in sixth.  Chadwick had retired from the event, and Stone had worked his way into third behind McDaniel and Laney by lap 16 when Kyle Bryan spun for a caution flag.  McDaniel continued to set the pace, but Bryan spun yet again for a lap 19 caution flag.  William Gould had made it up to fourth from 14th starting by then.  However, there was no stopping McDaniel as he brought it home to victory ahead of Laney, Stone, Gould and James.  Alex Wilson scored a sixth place finish as Noland, Winbarger, Stephen Hopf and Bryan Clark rounded out the top ten.

The Sport Modifieds ran two heat races, and Wayne Dotson scored the win in the first heat race ahead of Watsonville Speedway Champion Nick Spainhoward and Fred Ryland.  2014 Merced Speedway Champion Rick Diaz won the second heat race ahead of Wyoming visitor Richard Mueller and Watsonville racer Anthony Giulianni.  Mueller had raced at Antioch Speedway for several years before moving out of state.

Diaz and Dotson shared the front row of the Sport Mod feature with Dotson charging into the early lead ahead of Diaz and Ryland.  Seven laps in, Guiliani stalled in Turn 4 for a yellow flag.  A lap later, John Gish spin in Turn 2 for a caution flag, and Ryland had gained the lead over Spainhoward and Dotson.  Ryland showed why they call him "Fast Freddie" as he sped to his second win in as many nights ahead of Spainhoward, Dotson, Keith Brown Jr. and Tim Elias.  Mueller finished sixth as the top ten was completed by Josh Hensley, Gish, Diaz and Guilianni.

In one of the better Four Banger turnouts that has been seen in the area in a while, there were 14 cars in action for what was essentially a regular point show for the Northern All Stars sanctioned division.  They ran two heat races with Joe Robinson winning the first heat ahead of Bobby Huckaby Jr. and Bobby Huckaby Sr.  At this time last year, the Huckaby's were in Dixon, where Huckaby Sr. won the 100 lap Enduro ahead of Huckaby Jr.  Corder won the second heat ahead of Andrew Krumm and Andy Boydestun.

Chris Corder had a front row start for this race and collected the win in the season opening Main Event.  Huckaby Jr. was second ahead of Justin McPherson and Huckaby Sr.  Mike Kongon started tenth and drove to a fifth place finish, and former Merced Hobby Stock champion Krumm was sixth. Boydestun, Jennifer Corder, Glen Glover and Clinton Massey rounded out the top ten.

DCRR Racing Radio Show: Episode 4 by GenWhat