Saturday, April 30, 2016

Daly, Combs, Smith Antioch Feature Winners

First of all...

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback


If You Like Reading Our Articles, Visit The Tip Jar at Go Fund Me to support our efforts

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

Daly, Combs, Smith Antioch Feature Winners

A few of the heavy hitters of Late Models descended on Antioch Speedway and put on a show Saturday night.  Leading the way and making a rare appearance was past Late Model touring champion Clay Daly.  Troy Foulger was also making his first 2015 appearance and he gave Daly all he could handle in the Main Event.  When Bob Kempf threw the checkered flag in the 20 lap event, it was Daly grabbing the well earned victory ahead of Foulger and season opener winner Bobby Hogge IV.  Andy Obertello made his return after winning the 2015 finale and finished fourth ahead of defending champion Jeff Decker and Richard Papnenhausen.  Hogge and Papehausen were the heat race winners.

The beginning of the Wingless Spec Sprint season has been a bit of a nightmare scenario for Marcus Smith.  After flipping his new ride in the Richard Basden car back in March, the 2015 "Rookie Of The Year" has struggled a bit so far.  However, Smith got things turned around this week by winning his heat race and then holding off Alan Miranda for the much needed Main Event victory.  Miranda settled for another career best second place finish with Jim Perry Jr. grabbing his second consecutive third place finish.  Rick Panfili was a respectable fourth place finisher ahead of Roy Fisher and 2015 champion Kyle Bakkie.

In the A Modified Main Event, the field of champions had a surprise winner at the checkered flag in Josh Combs.  A pavement Stock Car racer prior to getting his Dirt Modified last year, Combs held the lead with four time champion Troy Foulger chasing him down in the Bill Bowers owned car.  However, Combs kept his cool and scored a well earned victory ahead of Foulger.  Perhaps the best driver in the state right now, Bobby Hogge IV finished third ahead of Kellen Chadwick and Aaron Crowell.  The four drivers chasing Combs have all won championships at Antioch Speedway, and Hogge and Crowell were heat race winners on the night.

After winning his third consecutive Hobby Stock championship and becoming the division's all time Main Event win leader last year, Kimo Oreta has moved up to a Limited Late Model this season.  However, he still has his fast #03 Pure Stock, and he had an off night to drive it.  This was bad news for the competition.  Oreta grabbed the lead and held off impressive rookie Guy Ahlwardt for the Main Event victory.  It also made him the fourth different winner this season.  Ahwardt was rebounding from last week's non finish with a second place finish and heat race win.  Cameron Swank grabbed the final podium finish in third as 2010 champion Chris Sorensen and and Natalie Perry rounded out the Top 5.

Trevor Clymens rebounded from bad luck in his previous start by finally notching his first B Modified Main Event win of the season.  Clymens becomes the third different winner of the season.  Al Johnson collected his second runner up finish of the year to maintain his point lead.  Veteran Ron Brown grabbed a podium finish in third as heat winner Shane DeVolder and Danny Jones rounded out the Top 5.

In the Hardtop division, Jason Clifford was basking in the glow of his first career win a few weeks ago in Placerville.  He was hoping for two in a row, but there was a problem in the form of 86 year old Larry Damitz.  The track's Limited Late Model point leader and winner of last year's Hardtop race grabbed the lead and set sail for another Main Event victory.  Damitz also won his heat race to make it a clean sweep of the 12 car Hardtop event.  Back of the pack starter J. Clifford still impressed with a strong second place finish ahead of Dennis Armstrong.  Dan Williams drove his V6 powered Hardtop to a solid fourth place finish ahead of John Philbert and Ron Ruiz.

Racing resumes next Saturday night at Antioch Speedway with a five division program that features Winged 360 Sprint Cars, Wingless Spec Sprints, Limited Late Models, B Modifieds and Hobby Stocks.  For further information, check out the official website at

Race Results, Saturday Night April 30

Late Models
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Bobby Hogge IV, Richard Papenhausen. Main Event (20 Laps)-Clay Daly, Troy Foulger, Hogge, Andy Obertello, Jeff Decker.

A Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Bobby Hogge IV, Kellen Chadwick. Main Event (20 Laps)-Josh Combs, Troy Foulger, Hogge, Chadwick, Aaron Crowell.

Wingless Spec Sprints
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Marcus Smith, Shannon Newton.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Smith, Alan Miranda, Jim Perry Jr., Rick Panfili, Roy Fisher.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Danny Jones, Guy Ahwardt.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Kimo Oreta, Ahlwardt, Cameron Swank, Chris Sorensen, Natalie Perry.

B Modified
Heat Winner (8 Laps)-Shane DeVolder.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Trevor Clymens, Al Johnson, Ron Brown, DeVolder, Danny Jones.

Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Larry Damitz, Ron Ruiz.  Main Events (20 Laps)-Damitz, Jason Clifford, Dennis Armstrong, Dan Williams, John Phibert, Ruiz.