Sunday, June 28, 2015

Laney Out-duels Vogt For Chowchilla Speedway Win

First of all...

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

Also, what could be a series of informative books...

Short Track History Project at Gofundme 

Additional info on the Short Track History Project  HERE

Laney Out-duels Vogt For Chowchilla Speedway Win

Second generation racer Cody Laney returned to Chowchilla Speedway with Josh Vogt on Sunday night and went home with the victory..  The two Southern California based racers staged a thrilling side by side duel for most of the 15 lap IMCA Modified Man Event.  Laney held the inside and Vogt ran the outside with Laney repeatedly beating Vogt back to the line by a nose.  By about lap 10, Laney began establishing momentum and would pull away to an impressive victory.  Vogt settled for second with Kyle Wilson finishing third.

Fred Ryland had a front row start for the IMCA Sport Modified Main Event and led every lap in posting his sixth 15 lap victory.  Ryland was never really threatened as he won by a half a lap over heat winner Eric Rose.  Rose gained second after Keith Brown Jr. pitted with motor issues halfway through the race.  Rose managed to hold off third generation racer Billy Simkins for second place by about a car length at the checkered flag.

Kevin Joaquin won the 15 lap Hobby Stock Main Event in impressive fashion.  The point leader had a front row start  and led every lap for his third win of the season.  This was redemption for Joaquin, who seemingly had a win well in hand last time, only to spin in Turn 4 late in the race.  This time out, Joaquin drove a flawless race to grab the win ahead of heat race winner Austin Van Hoff of Chowchilla and Mini Stock racer Mike Congdon.

Sunday, June 28, 2015

Race Results

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Cody Laney.  Main Event (15 Laps)-Laney, Josh Vogt, Kyle Wilson, Ray Mayer, Alex Wilson.

IMCA Sport Mods
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Fred Ryland, Eric Rose.  Main Event (15 Laps)-F. Ryland, Rose, Billy Simkins, Patti Ryland, Josh Hensley.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Austin Van Hoff.  Main Event (15 Laps)-Kevin Joaquin, Van Hoff, Mike Congdon, Bobby Williams, Kodie Dean.