Friday, May 20, 2016

Golobic, Simonovich, Teves Win Watsonville Features

First of all...

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback


If You Like Reading Our Articles, Visit The Tip Jar at Go Fund Me to support our efforts

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

Note that these finishes are based on the live scoring displayed on Race Monitor and may not be reflective of the official finishes due to scoring loop errors or post race disqualifications.

Golobic, Simonovich, Teves Win Watsonville Features

Watsonville, CA...Racing continued at Ocean Speedway in Watsonville Friday night with a four division program.  When the checkered flag flew on the Main Events, it was Shane Golobic (Taco Bravo Sprint Cars), Dennis Simonovich (IMCA Sport Modifieds), David Teves (SBDCA Dwarf Cars) and Tony Olivera (American Stocks) getting the victories.

Past Taco Bravo Winged 360 Sprint Car champion Shane Golobic won the 30 lap Main Event.  The race was marred by several slowdowns, but Golobic was in the hunt throughout the race.  Andy Foresberg led at the start ahead of two time champion Tommy Tarlton and Brad Furr.  Tarlton grabbed the lead from Foresberg on a lap five restart as Furr settled into second ahead of D.J. Netto.  A yellow flag waved on lap 15, and defending champion Justin Sanders took second on the restart.  Golobic followed closely into third.  Golobic took over second on lap 23 and began pressuring Tarlton for the lead.  Golobic finally made his winning move on lap 27 with Furr following into second.  Golobic led through one more restart and would collect the victory.  Furr was second ahead of Tarlton, Michael Kofoid, Netto, Kurt Nelson, Kyler Shaw, Koen Shaw, Robby Price and Foresberg. Foresberg won the Trophy Dash ahead of Tarlton.  Tarlton won his heat race ahead of Tony Gualda.  Netto won a heat race in front of Furr, while Golobic claimed his heat race win ahead of Kofoid.

Dennis Simonovich scored the victory in the 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event.  Simonovich had the lead from the start ahead of rookie Shane DeVolder and Merced visitor Chris Falkenberg.  Defending champion Matt Hagio slipped past Falkenberg for third on lap eight.  A red flag was out for a Vaughn Vondera rollover.  Simonovich continued to lead DeVolder on the restart. Tony Giuliani raced by DeVolder for second on lap 13 and set his sights on Simonovich for the lead.  Giuliani was gaining ground when a lap 19 yellow flag slowed the pace.  As Simonovich continued to set the pace, Giuliani's bid for the lead saw him slip up and fall back several positions.  Simonovich won ahead of Hagio, DeVolder, Jim DiGiovanni, Falkenberg, Adrienne DeSousa, Giuliani, Charlie Hunter, John Ferro and Vaughn Vondera.  Falkenberg won a heat race over Justin McPherson, while Simonovich won his heat ahead of DeSousa.

2015 Antioch Speedway Dwarf Car champion David Teves won the 20 lap Dwarf Car Main Event.  Teves chased Eric Weisler for five laps before taking the lead.  Perennial front runner Shawn Jones followed into second with defending champion Gene "Punky" Pires soon taking over third.  The battle was on up front.  Despite some serious pressure from Jones, Teves was not to be denied the impressive victory.  Pires brought it home third ahead of past champion Nick Squatrito, Terre Rothweiler, Marty Weisler, Justin Yanez, E. Weisler, Joey Dale and recent Antioch winner Mark Biscardi.  Cameron Diatte won a heat race ahead of Sqauatrito, while Rothweiler won the other heat ahead of Pires.

Tony Olivera won an eventful 20 lap American Stock Main Event.  Past champion William Kennedy set the early pace ahead of Olivera.  Ron Bonnema passed George Fernandez for third on lap three and took second from Olivera on lap seven.  Kennedy was leading Bonnnema, Olivera and Robert Gallaher when a lap 12 caution flag flew.  Olivera took the lead from Kennedy on the restart as Bonnema brought out a yellow flag.  Olivera led Gallaher and Nick Triolo on the next restart.  Kennedy moved into third on lap 19, and Olivera collected the victory ahead of Gallaher, Kennedy, Fernandez, Triolo, Katie Briggs and Bonnema.  Gallaher won the heat race ahead of Bonnema.