Saturday, August 20, 2016

Crismon, Merritt, Martin Orland Winners, Newman Wins At Hayfork

First of all...

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback


If You Like Reading Our Articles, Visit The Tip Jar at Go Fund Me to support our efforts

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

DCRR Racing Radio Show

DCRR Racing Radio Show: Episode 91 by GenWhat

Crismon, Merritt, Martin Schmitke Memorial Winners At Orland Raceway

Orland, CA...August 13... Saturday night was the Thomas Schmitke Memorial '"Race For A Cure" at Orland Raceway and it was a night that brought out the highest race car turnout of the season.  It was also an opportunity for the Schmitke Memorial Charity to raise money for St. Judes.  In the 600 Micro Sprints, point leader Jeremie Crismon continued his march towards the championship with his Main Event win.  Marysville visitor Hunter Merritt won the Mini Stock Main  Event, while reigning champion Keith Ross captured his second Mini Truck victory.  Also joining the two time winner's club was Hobby Stock winner Steve Martin. The 250 Micro Sprint win went to Robert Baker.

Car count increased to ten competitors for the 600 Micro Sprint division, and Jeromie Crismon and Rick Gutzke were the heat race winners.  Reigning champion Crismon and Gutzke renewed their battle from the previous race with a similar result as Crismon held off Gutzke for another win.  Rick Alonso had a good showing in third ahead of Tony Alosi and Robert Bernard.  Scott McIntosh had the best showing of his three car team in sixth as Gary Adams and Skyler Richter followed.  Dolan McIntosh and Wingless Spec Sprint racer Jason McIntosh were Main Event scratches.

Crismon was doing double duties in the 250 Micro division, but his night didn't go so well there as he scratched early.  It was a good night for Robert Barker as he won his heat race and his second Main Event of the season.  Reigning champion Jesse Garland settled for second in front of Ronnie Heyer and Jackie Whitson.

This season saw the unfortunate cancellation of the Mini Stock division at Marysville, leaving Hunter Merritt without a home track.  Merritt brought his car to Orland and was happy he did as he held off point leader John Kirkpatrick to win his heat race.  Two time feature winner Donovan Chilton held off recent Shasta Hornet feature winner Dustin Hills to win his heat race.  Merritt had the momentum going into the Main Event.  Hungry for his first win of the season, Kirkpatrick gave it all he had, but he settled for a respectable second behind the flying Merritt.   Chilton grabbed the final podium position as Barbara Crane finished fourth ahead of Steven Spears, Hills and Kyle Britt.  Title hopeful Robert Hunt suffered a DNF, causing him to fall 34 points behind Kirkpatrick in the point battle.  Past Orland Raceway star Jake Van Tol was back, but he suffered mechanical issues in his heat race to force him to scratch from the feature.

Reigning Mini Truck champion Keith Ross followed the night's trend of heat winners getting feature victories as well.  Ross held off point leader Dan Webster to get a heat race win and then battled Trophy Dash winner Olin Crane to score his second Main Event win of the season.  Webster settled for third ahead of Nathan Skaggs and Jeremy Callen.  In his bid for a first career track championship, Webster leads William Fogle by 40 points after seven races.

Runaway pointy leader Steve Martin has been fast and consistent in the Hobby Stock division.  Saturday night, Martin kicked off the evening with yet another heat race victory over Jared Flower.  Martin then added a second Main Event win to his his four second place finishes as Flower again finished second.  Earl Adams was third ahead of two time winner Shannon Collins.  Cody Bundy saw his title hopes probably come to an end as he scratched from the Main Event.

Racing will take place on Sunday afternoon (August 21) with the five regular divisions in action.  On September 3rd, these same classes will return as the track also holds bike races for the kids in three different age categories.  There will also be a bike giveaway that night.  For further information, go to

Orland Raceway
Point Standings

Pure Stocks
Steve Martin     353
Cody Bundy     232
Jeremy Langenderfer 208
Shannon Collins 201
Earl Adams     185
Mini Stock                                  
John Kirkpatrick 332
Robert Hunt     298
Jeff Bennett    250
Tom Davis     216
Donovan Chilton 161

Mini Trucks
Dan Webster     313
William Fogle     273
Keith Ross     265
Olin Crain     264
Nate Skaggs     183

600 Micro
Jeromie Chrismon 265
Skyler Richter     202
Toni Alosi     156
Rick Gutzke     106
Dean Slinkard     103

250 Micro
Andrew Love     242
Robert Baker     156
Jess Garland     146
Ronnie Heyer     142
Dave McKinnon     103 

Newman Grabs First Win In Clyde Cordell Memorial Race 
At Hayfork Speedway

Hayfork, CA...August 13...Hayfork Speedway held it's big Clyde Cordell Memorial Event Saturday night as part of the 95th Annual Trinity County Fair.  The event pays tribute to the man who was a driving force in helping establish the race track five years ago.  When the checkered flag flew in a competitive Hobby Stock feature, it was Russ "The Newmanator" Newman winning the Main Event.  Other wins were recorded by Ross Vige (Mini Stocks), Tressan Smith (Pro Stocks) and Donny Case and Joey Young in a tie (Enduros).

The field increased to 11 cars and made for a very competitive night in the Hobby Stock division.  Kevin Kasper was a double winner with wins in both his heat race and the Trophy Dash.  James John won the other heat race.  K. Kasper and Bill Kasper started up front in the feature with Russ Newman right behind them.  Newman has been running strong this season and was due for a win.  It just so happened that he picked the biggest night of the season to score that win.  K. Kasper settled for second ahead of B. Kasper.  Chico and Orland racer Jeremy Langenderfer was back to go for his second win, but his race ended in a crash.  A full finish was not available, but all of the racers who competed deserve credit for helping make it a great night at Hayfork Speedway. 

Past Orland Mini Truck champion Ross Vige has been having a blast at Hayfork Speedway this year and again made the trip for some Mini Stock racing.  Vige and 2015 Enduro champion William Young shared the preliminary glory as Young won the heat race and Vige won the Trophy Dash.  Vige has won most of the Main Events this season, and he won again in front of the big fair time crowd.  Young settled for second ahead of Andy Blackburn.

The same three drivers who have been working to establish the Outlaw Pro Stock division in Hayfork were back to do battle again.  When the checkered flag flew, it was Tressan Smith scoring another victory ahead of Josh Michaels.  Josh Smith was not listed in the results.

The wild Enduro division rounded out the show.  Donny Case and Joey Young actually scored a tie for the victory as Tim Kasper was listed in third.

Racing continues at Hayfork Speedway on August 27th with the Summer Sizzler.  All of the regular divisions will be back in action.  For further information, go to