Sunday, August 7, 2016

New And Familiar Faces Lead The Way At Antioch Speedway

First of all...

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback


If You Like Reading Our Articles, Visit The Tip Jar at Go Fund Me to support our efforts

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

2015 Cottage Grove Speedway champion Seth Nunes #5v won the Winged 360 Sprint Car Main Event with a last lap pass.  Photo by Paul Gould

New And Familiar Faces Lead The Way At Antioch Speedway

Antioch, CA...Five divisions shared the three-eighth mile clay oval at Antioch Speedway for an exciting racing program Saturday night.  The checkered flag flew on a few familiar faces as well as some new winners.  Southern Oregon visitor Seth Nunes became the eighth different 25 lap All Star Series Winged 360 Sprint Car winner in nine races.  Jenna Frazier also wrote her name into the winner's column in the 20 lap Dwarf Car feature.

B Modified point leader Trevor Clymens continued to roll with his sixth 20 lap Main Event triumph, while Hobby Stock point leader Danny Jones won for the fourth time.  Scott Busby drove to his second A Modified feature win of the season.  This was also the 70th of Busby's storied career at Antioch Speedway, leaving him two wins shy of the record, held by speedway legend J.D. Willis.

Scott Busby #73 has more A Modified wins than anybody in Antioch Speedway history and is second on the all time win list.  Photo by Paul Gould

 Oregon's Seth Nunes drove the Jim Van Lare car to a 25 lap victory in the All Star Series Winged 360 Sprint Car Main Event.  The race got off to a rough start when heat race winner Zack Lynsky flipped his car on the opening lap.  Bob Newberry spun early in the event, and Petaluma racer Roberto Kirby found his way into the lead.  Kirby was leading late, but Nunes made his winning pass on the final lap.  Kirby still had one of his best finishes in second ahead of point leader Billy Aton, Dan Gonderman and heat race winner Art McCarthy.

Scott Busby won his second 20 lap A Modified Main Event of the season.  The race was a bit rough at times and point leader Carl Berendsen II rolled his car with five laps to go.  The last month and a half has been a bit rough for five time champion Busby, but he brought it to the line for a satisfying victory.  Nick Viscusi III was a season best second ahead of Trent Wentworth, Norm Boeck and Sean O'Gara.

Point leader Trevor Clymens won his sixth 20 lap B Modified Main Event.  Marysville visitor Jimmy Ford led the first four laps that were plagued by a series of yellow flags.  On lap five, Clymens took the lead as Ford spun.  As Clymens led the way, Lloyd Cline worked his way back to second, only to spin with two laps to go.  There was no stopping Clymens as he cruised to victory.  Shane DeVolder collected his fifth second place finish ahead of Alan Furuta, Al Johnson and K.C. Keller.

Point leader Danny Jones won his fourth 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event.  Chris Sorensen set the early pace.  The 2010 champion was able to get a new transmission after breaking his old one while leading on lap seven last week.  Sorensen led the first half of the race through three caution flags, but Jones made his move into the lead on lap 12.  As a flat tire sent Sorensen to the pits for a green flag pit stop, title contender Guy Ahlwardt moved up to challenge Jones.  However, Jones was not to be denied as he prevailed at the checkered flag.  After winning his heat race, Ahlwardt finished a much needed second ahead of Rob Waldrop, Calvin Louis Jr. and Michael Cooper.

Jenna Frazier #29n won her first Dwarf Car Main Event and her heat race.  Photo by Paul Gould

 Jenna Frazier scored her first career 20 lap Dwarf Car Main Event win at Antioch Speedway.  Frazier splits her racing time between Antioch and the traveling NCDCA, and she has been running very fast lately.  She recently won her first heat race and won another one tonight.  This time around, she had to contend with two time Street Stock champion David Rosa, but she ran a great race and grabbed the checkered flag ahead of Rosa, who enjoyed his best Dwarf Car finish.  Rookie Buddy Kniss also had his best finish in third ahead of title contender Mike Corsaro and David Michael Rosa.

Racing continues next week with an action packed program of DIRTcar Late Models, Winged 360 Sprints, Wingless Spec Sprints, B Modifieds, Limited Late Models and Dwarf Cars.  For further information, check out

Unofficial Race Results, August 6

Winged 360 Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Art McCarthy, Zack Lynsky.  Main Event (25 Laps)-Seth Nunes, Roberto Kirby, Billy Aton, Dan Gonderman, McCarthy.

A Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Jeff Thomas, Chester Kniss.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Scott Busby, Nick Viscusi III, Trent Wentworth, Norm Boeck, Sean O'Gara.

B Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Trevor Clymens, Lloyd Cline.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Clymens, Shane DeVolder, Alan Furuta, Al Johnson, K.C. Keller.

Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Mike Corsaro, Jenna Frazier.  Main Event (20Laps)-Frazier, David Rosa, Buddy Kniss, M. Corsaro, David Michael Rosa.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Guy Ahlwardt, Cameron Swank.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Danny Jones, Guy Ahlwardt, Rob Waldrop, Calvin Louis Jr., Micheal Cooper.