Wednesday, August 3, 2016

McCarthy, Cass, Miraglio Score Second Antioch Victories First Career Win For Michael Cooper

First of all...

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback


If You Like Reading Our Articles, Visit The Tip Jar at Go Fund Me to support our efforts

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

 McCarthy, Cass, Miraglio Score Second Antioch Victories
First Career Win For Michael Cooper

Antioch, CA...July 30...Antioch Speedway fans got treated to an exciting six division program on John M. Soares's fast 3/8th mile clay oval Saturday night.  They left with lots of things to talk about, including a point lead change, a first time winner and a few drivers recording their season best finishes. 

All Star Series Winged 360 Sprint Car title contender Art McCarthy and A Modified racer Brian Cass won their second Main Events of the season.  Up until this race, neither division had produced a repeat winner all season long.  Point leader Kevin Miraglio won his second Dwarf Car Main Event.  Trevor Clymens used his fifth B Modified feature win to gain the point lead from Al Johnson, while Larry Damitz maintained his Limited Late Model point lead with his fourth win.  Not to be outdone, Hobby Stock veteran Michael Cooper won his first career Main Event.

Title contender Art McCarthy returned to the winner's circle for the first time since opening day with his victory in the 25 lap All Star Series Winged 360 Sprint Car Main Event Saturday night at Antioch Speedway.  McCarthy has been trying to regain ground in his quest for the championship since a few races ago when he failed to start the Main Event and lost the lead to Billy Aton.  After winning his heat race, McCarthy then won the Main Event.  However, Aton didn't lose much ground at all as he made his presence known with a strong second place finish.  Petaluma competitor Marissa Polizzi won her heat race and finished a solid third ahead of reigning champion Shawn Arriaga.  After flipping his car about a month ago, Dan Gonderman returned with a fifth place finish.

Brian Cass became the first A Modified repeat winner of the year with his second 20 lap feature win.  Cass started the night off with a heat race win.  The Main Event was no gimme as Cass had to contend with four time track champion Troy Foulger in the Bowers Racing Modified.  It was 2004 champion Aaron Crowell getting the ride in the Josh Combs car and leading early, but he slipped back to third behind Cass and Foulger.  Cass drove a great race and stayed cool under pressure for a hard fought win.  Foulger settled for second ahead of Crowell, Chester Kniss and Trent Wentworth.

Little by little, Trevor Clymens has been gaining ground in his bid to win the B Modified championship.  His fifth feature win of the season will enable him to take the point lead from Al Johnson.  Clymens started the night off with a heat race win.  Johnson again led some of the race before getting caught up in a tangle.  Clymens would get the lead and bring it home to the important victory.  Rookie Shane DeVolder matched his season best effort with his fourth second place finish.  Brian Pearce hasn't been seen since he wrecked his car while racing hard for a feature win earlier this year.  He returned with a heat win and a third place finish in the Main Event.  Hobby Stock point leader Danny Jones and Johnson completed the Top 5.

Michael Cooper finally broke through for his first career 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event win.  When the season started, Cooper earned back to back second place finishes and looked like he could be a championship contender.  Unfortunately, work has forced him to miss races, but he's still contending for a Top 5 point position.  On Saturday night, Cooper got to battle with brother in law Jordan Swank before driving to the satisfying victory.  Swank settled for a season best second in a night of personal bests for other racers.  Rookie Anthony Vigna scored his first Top 5 finish of the year in third ahead of a season best fourth for Lindsey Buirch.  Point leader Danny Jones finished fifth.  Chris Sorensen saw his Top 5 streak end at four as he retired late in the race along with championship hopeful Guy Ahlwardt.

Point leader Kevin Miraglio won his second 20 lap Dwarf Car Main Event of the season.  Mike Corsaro needed a big night to gain some ground on Miraglio in the standings, and he started things off with a heat race win.  Corsaro has had some rough luck of late, but he looked good as he ran in the lead battle.  However, Miraglio looked even better as he held off his rival for the impressive victory.  Behind Corsaro in third was heat winner David Rosa in his best finish of the season.  Joey Dale and David Michael Rosa finished in the Top 5.

Larry Damitz returned to the winner's circle in the 20 lap Limited Late Model Main Event.  Rival Mark Garner was on a mission to win again and gain ground on Damitz in the championship standings.  However, the 87 year old veteran Damitz was not to be denied as he scored his fourth win of the season ahead of Garner.  Kimo Oreta stayed in the hunt with a heat win and third place finish as John Evans and rookie Billy Garner rounded out the Top 5.

Racing continues next Saturday night with Winged 360 Sprint Cars, A Modifieds, B Modifieds and Hobby Stocks all in action.  For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results, July 30th

Winged Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Marissa Polizzi, Art McCarthy.  Main Event (25 Laps)-McCarthy, Billy Aton, Polizzi, Shawn Arriaga, Dan Gonderman.

A Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Brian Cass, Scott Busby.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Cass, Troy Foulger, Aaron Crowell, Chester Kniss, Trent Wentworth.

B Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Brian Pearce, Trevor Clymens.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Clymens, Shane DeVolder, Pearce, Danny Jones, Al Johnson.

Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (8 laps)-David Rosa, Mike Corsaro.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Kevin Miraglio, Corsaro, David Rosa, Joey Dale, David Michael Rosa.

Limited Late Models
Heat Winner (8 Laps)-Kimo Oreta.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Larry Damitz, Mark Garner, Oreta, John Evans, Billy Garner.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Danny Jones, Michael Cooper.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Cooper, Jordan Swank, Anthony Vigna, Lindsey Buirch, Danny Jones, Brian Keith.