Wednesday, July 28, 2010

LaLiberte, Gustafson, Dutra & Ryland Win Again At Antioch

I didn't have much information to work with, but I did what I could. I found some information and compared point listings from last week and this week. This is all unofficial. I debated whether to even bother, but I decided to go ahead and do it for whoever might give a darn at this point.

Another five division show entertained the crowd Saturday night at Antioch Speedway with some familiar faces collecting the victories. At the end of the night, it was Tommy LaLiberte (Wingless Spec Sprint), Mike Gustafson (Super Stocks), Patty Ryland (Four Bangers) and Travis Dutra (Mini Trucks) picking up the wins.

Jason Sneep grabbed the victory in the BCRA Midget Lites one appearance of the season ahead of Brian Corso, Dakota Albright, Joey Hoover and Zack Beard. The 11 cars ran two heat races with Sneep and Scott Kinney collecting the victories.

The big car count of the night belonged to the Wingless Spec Sprints, where 15 competitors were in action. They ran two heat races to set the grid for the night, and wins went to current point leader Tommy LaLiberte and 1999 division champion Dan Gonderman. LaLiberte continued his race towards the championship by holding off past champion, Jim Perry Jr. for his fifth feature win of the season. Gary Nelson was third, and Jeff Kindt and David Press finished in or near the top five. Press lost more ground to LiLiberte in the championship battle, now trailing by 30 points.

There were eight Super Stocks in action for this event, and the night started off well for fifth ranked Lloyd Cline, who won his first heat race of the season. Late starter Mike Gustafson, a three time champion at the speedway, picked up his second feature win of the season as he slowly gains ground on Cline for fifth in the standings. In the Main Event, Gustafson's closest rivals were this season's championship contenders, Mitch Machado and Larry Damitz, who finished second and third, respectively. Machado's lead over Damitz still sits at 14 points. Eric Berendsen, Fred Ryland and Jon Haney had top six finishes.

The Mini Truck field increased to seven trucks for this race, and Travis Dutra continued his dominance of the division with a heat race win and then another feature victory. Dutra's nearest rival, Ray Bunn, trails by 60 points. Ron Mayberry enjoyed his best finish of the season in second, propelling him into fifth in the standings, while Dan Wagner finished third. Wagner trails Bunn by 16 points for second in the standings. Despite rolling his truck, 2009 champion Gene Haney had a top five finish, as did Bunn.

The Four Bangers continue to have an interesting point battle. After missing a race for vacation, 2009 champion Patty Ryland dropped back to third in the standings, but she has steadily worked her way back towards the lead. 2009 runner up Ken Radabaugh won the heat race, but he was no match for Ryland, who held him off for the victory behind the wheel of her newly painted car. Mike Felt placed third in his first start as Devon DeOdosso and top five ranked Justin Silveira had top five finishes. Incoming point leader Dayna Andreesen was in action for the night but is not listed as having earned any points. Radabaugh now leads Ryland by 20 points.

Five divisions will be in action next Saturday night in a show headlined by Wingless Spec Sprints, Dirt Modifieds, Super Stocks, Hobby Stocks and Mini Trucks.