Monday, July 19, 2010

Rivera Continues Climb Towards Antioch Point Lead

The Dwarf Car division ran a show in conjunction with the Golden State Challenge Series Sprint Car race Saturday night at Antioch Speedway. Despite missing a race, five time champion Ricardo Rivera continues his climb towards the Dwarf Car point lead at a rapid pace. Rivera gained even more ground with his fifth feature victory of the season.

The Golden State Challenge Series Sprint Car feature event went to young Kyle Larson ahead of Brent Kaeding, Bobby McMahon, Ryan Kaplan and Evan Suggs. The 19 cars ran three heat races with wins going to Brent Bjork, Larson and Andy Gregg, while McMahon won the dash. Despite not winning a feature this season, 13 time series champion Kaeding holds a slim four point lead over Larson with three races remaining.

There were 16 Dwarf Cars in action, and they ran two heat races. Incoming point leader Nick Squatritto won his heat race with Tony Carmignani grabbing second from Rivera, who settled for third. Past champion Ed Johnson outdueled Tom Brown to win the second heat race.

Only 12 points separate Squatritto, Rivera and Jerry Doty in the track's closest point battle. Rivera continued his heat race battle with Carmignani in the Main Event, but this time, Rivera came out the victor. The top three finishers received plaques as top five ranked Clayton Dortzbach enjoyed one of his better nights in third. Doty kept in the championship battle with a fourth place finish as Dan Liston had one of his better nights in fifth. Completing the top ten were Joel Osias, Squatritto, Charlie Correia, Mike Corsaro and Chris Lloyd.

Regular championship racing resumes at Antioch Speedway next Saturday night with a five division show featuring Wingless Spec Sprints, Super Stocks, Mini Trucks, Four Bangers and BCRA Midget Lites.