Saturday, July 18, 2015

DeForest Wins Fast Paced Feature At Antioch Speedway

First of all...

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback

Also, what could be a series of informative books...

Short Track History Project at Gofundme 

Additional info on the Short Track History Project  HERE

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

DeForest Wins Fast Paced Feature At Antioch Speedway

Shawn DeForest won a non stop 20 lap IMCA Modified Main Event at Antioch Speedway Saturday night.  DeForest jumped behind the wheel of the Jim Reid owned #72 car and led every lap for his first win of the season.  While DeForest was lapping slower traffic, the battle was for second.  Michael Paul Jr. held the spot until making contact with a slower car in the final turn.  Kyle Wilson slid underneath both cars and beat Paul to the line for second.

Mark Garner won his second 20 lap Limited Late Model Main Event of the season.  The win nearly got away as Garner led the first five laps before a mistake in Turn 2 allowed Jim Freethy to get by.  Freethy held the point until he cut a left rear tire and surrendered the lead back to Garner on lap nine.  Garner led the rest of the way with point leader Larry Damitz a close second.  Mike Gustafson finished third.  Garner dedicated the win to his ailing father, 1969 State champion Jerry “The Maverick” Garner, who was watching from the grandstands.

Jimmy Perry III got momentarily hooked up with James East early in the 20 lap Wingless Spec Sprint Main Event and fell back, but he worked his way back into contention and won the race.  Perry made his winning pass on the inside of Rick Panfili as they exited Turn 2 of the 16th lap.  Keith Shipherd actually held  the lead for the first 13 laps of the race. However, Shipherd crashed trying to avoid a spun car, handing the lead to Panfili.  Panfili settled for a career best second behind Perry.  Marcus Smith finished third after a late pass on heat winner Alan Miranda.

Chris Sorensen won the 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event.  The 2010 track champion started on the front row and drove a flawless race for his second win of the season.  It didn’t come easy as he had 2013 Super Hobby Stock champion Jim Robbins shadowing his every move down the stretch.  Robbins took a few peaks to the inside of Sorensen, but Sorensen was not to be denied the victory.  Point leader Kimo Oreta was a close third.

Racing resumes next Saturday night at Antioch Speedway with a five division show that will include DIRTcar Late Models, IMCA Sport Modifieds, Wingless Spec Sprints, Dwarf Cars and Hobby Stocks.

Race Results
Saturday Night, July 18, 2015

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Shawn DeForest, Kyle Wilson.  Main Event (20 Laps)-DeForest, K. Wilson, Michael Paul Jr., Bobby Motts Jr., Scott Busby.

Wingless Spec Sprints
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Alan Miranda.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Jimmy Perry III, Rick Panfili, Marcus Smith, Miranda, James East.

Limited Late Models
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Mike Hynes, Larry Damitz.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Mark Garner, Damitz, Mike Gustafson, Ricky Thatcher, Hynes.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Kimo Oreta, Cameron Swank. Main Event (20 Laps)-Chris Sorensen, Jim Robbins, Oreta, Michael Cooper, Chase Templeton.