Saturday, July 25, 2015

Papenhausen Scores Sixth Late Model Feature Win At Antioch Speedway

First of all...

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback

Also, what could be a series of informative books...

Short Track History Project at Gofundme 

Additional info on the Short Track History Project  HERE

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

Papenhausen Scores Sixth Late Mode Feature Win At Antioch Speedway

Wasting little time grabbing the lead, Richard Papenhausen won the 20 lap DIRTcar Late Model Main Event Saturday night at Antioch Speedway.  Papenhausen grabbed the lead from Anthony Restad with a Turn 4 pass on lap four and set sail for his sixth feature win of the season.  He won by over a straightaway, leaving the battle for second.

Restad had his hands full with previous winner Troy Foulger making several attempts to get by him.  However, Restad ran a good race and held off Foulger’s every advances for his second runner up finish of the season.  Foulger settled for third with point leader Jeff Decker right behind him in fourth.

Anthony Giuliani won his second 20 lap Sport Mod Main Event of the season.  Giuliani grabbed the lead from Ron Brown with a Turn 2 pass on lap seven.  Fifth row starter Fred Ryland worked his way into second and briefly grabbed the lead on lap 16 before drifting up in Turn 3 and falling back to fourth.  Guiliani led the rest of the way for a well earned victory ahead of Patti Ryland and Paul Mulder.

Jeff Lee returned for the first time since the season opener and won the 20 lap Wingless Spec Sprint Main Event.  Lee led all 20 laps for the victory.  During the final 10 laps, Lee had point leader Kyle Bakkie and Jimmy Perry III right behind him.  Perry tried several times to slip by Bakkie on the inside, but it was Bakkie grabbing the runner up finish.  Perry settled for third.

David Teves picked up his fourth 20 lap Main Event win of the season to increase his Dwarf Car point lead.  Teves rapidly worked his way up to the front from tenth starting and grabbed the lead from Pat Urdahl on a lap nine restart.  Urdahl had led from the start and settled for a season best second place finish ahead of Adam Teves.  The race had just one caution flag, and the lead five cars ran in close formation at the end as Josh Miller and Kevin Miraglio rounded out the Top 5.

Kimo Oreta grabbed his sixth 20 lap Hobby Stock feature win of the season.  The current point leader Oreta started on the front row and led the entire distance for the victory.  After Michael Cooper and then Danny Jones had mechanical issues while running second, Jordan Swank held off Calvin Louis Jr. and Chris Long in a close battle for a career best second place finish.

Racing resumes next Saturday night at Antioch Speedway with a five division show that will include IMCA Modifieds, MCA Sport Modifieds, Wingless Spec Sprints, Dwarf Cars and Hobby Stocks.

Race Results
Saturday Night, July 25, 2015

DIRTcar Late Models
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Richard Papenhausen, Troy Foulger.  Main Event (20 laps)-Papenhausen, Anthony Restad, Foulger, Jeff Decker, John Soares Jr.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Ron Brown, Trevor Clymens.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Anthony Giuliani, Patti Ryland, Paul Mulder, Al Sotomayor, K.C. Keller.

Wingless Spec Sprints
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Marcus Smith, Kyle Bakkie. Main Event (20 Laps)-Jeff Lee, Bakkie, Jimmy Perry III, Alan Miranda, Pete Carlotto.

Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Josh Miller, Jerry Doty, David Teves.  Main Event (20 Laps)-D. Teves, Pat Urdahl, Adam Teves, Miller, Kevin Miraglio.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)- Joey Ridgeway, Cameron Swank.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Oreta, Jordan Swank, Calvin Louis Jr., Chris Long, Ridgeway.