Saturday, August 1, 2015

Crowell Goes Flag To Flag For Antioch Speedway Victory

First of all...

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback

Also, what could be a series of informative books...

Short Track History Project at Gofundme 

Additional info on the Short Track History Project  HERE

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

Crowell Goes Flag To Flag For Antioch Speedway Victory

Aaron Crowell was unstoppable in the 20 lap IMCA Modified Main Event Saturday night at Antioch Speedway.  Driving a new GRT Chassis that he’s only raced a few times this season, Crowell would lead every lap in scoring the victory. While the past champion Crowell was building his straightaway lead in the non stop event, Terry Kaiser was busy earning a career best second place finish ahead of rookie Nick Viscusi III in third.

Marysville visitor Jason Ferguson won his first 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event.  Ferguson had a front row start and would lead all 20 laps.  He won by a straightaway as Ron Brown battled for his third second place finish of the season.   Rookie K.C. Keller continues to improve as he was a season best third place finisher after winning his heat race earlier in the evening.

Jimmy Perry III won the 20 lap Wingless Spec Sprint Main Event in impressive fashion.  Perry worked his way from the third row into the lead by lap nine as he made a Turn 2 pass on James East.  Once Perry had the lead, he stretched it to about a half lap in scoring his fourth win of the season.  East settled for second with point leader Kyle Bakkie finishing third.

Dan McCown won the 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event.  He did it with a little luck and a backup car.  His car owner Steven Rogers brought a second car to he track after McCown’s own car had mechanical issues in hot laps.  Danny Jones held command for 15 laps until he cut a right front tire and hit the Turn 1 wall.  This gave the lead to McCown and he led the rest of the way for the win.  Point leader Kimo Oreta was second with Natalie Perry a season best third.

Mike Corsaro scored his second 20 lap Dwarf Car Main Event win of the season.   He won it in impressive fashion by leading all 20 laps.  Corsaro had over a straightaway advantage when the lone caution flag waved on lap 15 for a four car crash in Turn 4.  However, Corsaro resumed command on the restart and sped to the impressive victory.  Josh Miller finished second ahead of Kevin Miraglio.

Racing resumes next Saturday night at Antioch Speedway with a five division show that will include DirtCar Late Models, IMCA Sport Modifieds, Winged 360 Sprints, Limited Late Models and Hobby Stocks.

Race Results
Saturday Night, August 1, 2015

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Aaron Crowell, Ed Daviess.  Main Event (20 laps)-Crowell, Terry Kaiser, Nick Viscusi III, Carl Berendsen II, Daviess.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Ron Brown,  K.C. Keller.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Jason Ferguson, Brown, Keller, Trevor Clymens, Fred Ryland.

Wingless Spec Sprints
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Jimmy Perry III, Rick Panfili.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Perry, James East, Kyle Bakkie, Peter Carlotto, Marcus Smith.

Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Josh Miller, Mike Corsaro, Kevin Miraglio.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Corsaro, Miller, Miraglio, David Teves, Pat Urdahl.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Kimo Oreta, Michael Cooper.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Dan McCown, Kimo Oreta, Natalie Perry, Frank Furtado, Chris Sorensen