Saturday, August 29, 2015

McCarthy Grabs Second Sprint Car Win, Arriaga Antioch Speedway Champion

First of all...

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

Also, what could be a series of informative books...

Short Track History Project at Go Fund Me 

Additional info on the Short Track History Project  HERE

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

McCarthy Grabs Second Sprint Car Win, Arriaga Antioch Speedway Champion

Art McCarthy drove to his second Winged 360 Sprint Car 20 lap Main Event victory of the season Saturday night at Antioch Speedway.  The win wasn’t enough for McCarthy to regain the point lead as Shawn Arriaga used his fourth place finish to wrap up the season championship for this division.

After winning his first heat race, Dan Gonderman had a front row start for the Main Event and set the early pace ahead of McCarthy.  Gonderman was tentative as he approached a slower car, resulting in a back stretch jam up of cars on lap ten that saw Gonderman and Colby Wiesz crash.  McCarthy had the lead from there and led the rest of the way to win ahead of Bobby McMahan and Jake Haulot.

Petaluma point leader Nick DeCarlo won the 15 lap IMCA Modified Main Event.  As Aaron Crowell led from his front row start, DeCarlo steadily worked his way to the front from a sixth row starting spot.  DeCarlo gained second on lap six, but he trailed Crowell by a straightaway.  DeCarlo nearly caught Crowell, but it was a lap 12 yellow flag that gave him his opportunity.  DeCarlo took the lead from Crowell on the restart and led the final three laps for a well earned victory.  Shawn DeForest out dueled Oreste Gonella for a second place finish.

Anthony Giuliani won the 15 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event for his fourth win of the season.  Giuliani made an inside pass in Turn 4 of the 12th lap to take the lead from Patti Ryland and went on to victory.  Trevor Clymens led the first seven laps before being passed by point leader Fred Ryland.  F. Ryland lost his hood on lap nine and was black flagged.  That gave Clymens back the lead, but he was passed by P. Ryland on lap 10.  P. Ryland followed Giuliani closely for a second place finish as Clymens settled for third.

Point leader Kyle Bakkie won his fourth Wingless Spec Sprint 20 lap Main Event of the season.  It was his first win since flipping his car back in June.  Roy Fisher set the early pace, and Bakkie gained second with the departure of Jimmy Perry III on lap 13.  Bakkie beat Fisher back to the line on lap 16 and led the rest of the way.  Fisher settled for second ahead of a solid third place effort for Keith Shipherd.

Mike Gustafson impressed with his third 20 lap Limited Late Model feature win of the season.  Gustafson had the pole and led every lap of the race in victory.  Mike Hynes came from the fifth row to finish second after making a brief challenge for the lead.  Lori Brown matched her season best effort in third with John Evans the final lead lap finisher in fourth.

Kimo Oreta won a time limit shortened 13 lap Hobby Stock Main Event for his eighth win of the season.  Despite several yellow flags, Oreta held off all challengers on the restarts to secure his eighth feature win of the season.  Placerville visitor Jay Bryant crossed the finish line second, followed by Steven Rogers and Natalie Perry.

Two time Dwarf Car champion  Danny Wagner made a triumphant return with his third 20 lap Dwarf Car Main Event win of the season.  Wagner bided his time as he ran second to point leader David Teves early on and was briefly dropped to third by Mike Corsaro on lap four.  Teves lost power on lap five with Corsaro gaining the lead.  Wagner followed Corsaro closely until making his winning pass in Turn 4 of the 12th lap.  Wagner built a straightaway advantage by the time the checkered flag fell as Corsaro settled for second.  Kevin Miraglio finished third, just ahead of a season best fourth for Kurtis Craig.

Racing takes a week off, but resumes on Sunday, September 13 as Antioch Speedway will have World Of Outlaw Sprint Cars and IMCA Sport Modifieds.  The next regular program is Saturday, September 19 as DIRTcar Late Models, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, Wingless Spec Sprints, Limited Late Models and Hobby Stocks will be part of a six division program.

Race Results
Saturday Night, August 29, 2015

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Nick Viscusi III, Shawn DeForest.  Main Event (15 Laps)-Nick DeCarlo, DeForest, Oreste Gonella, Brian Cass, Bobby Motts Jr.

Winged 360 Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Shawn Arriaga, Dan Gonderman.  Main Event (20 laps)-Art McCarthy, Bobby McMahan, Jake Haulot, Arriaga, Gonderman

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Anthony Giuliani, Fred Ryland.  Main Event (15 Laps)-Giuliani, Patti Ryland, Trevor Clymens, K.C. Keller, Chuck Golden.

Wingless Spec Sprints
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Alan Miranda, Kyle Bakkie.  Main Event (20 laps)-Bakkie, Roy Fisher, Keith Shipherd, Miranda, Marcus Smith.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Marc Key, Russell Shearer, Jay Bryant.  Main Event (13 Laps)-Kimo Oreta, Bryant, Steven Rogers, Natalie Perry, Robert Niven.

Limited Late Models
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Larry Damitz, Jim Freethy.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Mike Gustafson, Mike  Hynes, Lori Brown, John Evans, Freethy.

Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Adam Teves, Kevin Miraglio, Curtis Kraig.  Main Event (20 laps)-Danny Wagner, Mike Corsaro, Miraglio, A. Teves, Kurtis Craig.