Saturday, August 15, 2015

Crowell Goes Flag To Flag In Second Straight Victory At Antioch Speedway

First of all...

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback

Also, what could be a series of informative books...

Short Track History Project at Gofundme 

Additional info on the Short Track History Project  HERE

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

Crowell Goes Flag To Flag In Second Straight Victory At Antioch Speedway

Aaron Crowell collected his second straight 20 lap IMCA Modified victory Saturday night at Antioch Speedway.  A past champion in the division, Crowell had a front row start in his GRT Modified, and he led every lap for the victory.  The win still didn’t come easy for Crowell as Merced Speedway and State point leader Alex Wilson gave him a serious challenge down the stretch.  In the closing laps, Darrell Hughes II made it a close three car battle.  However, Crowell would prevail at the checkered flag.  Wilson settled for second ahead of Hughes.

Anthony Giuliani won his third 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event in his last three visits.  Giuliani ran a patient race, coming from the third row to second by lap nine.  Trevor Clymens led from the start, but an inside pass in Turn 2 of the 11th lap gained Giuliani the lead.  Giuliani ran strong up front, and Clymens spun from second in Turn 2 on lap 15.  Giuliani led the rest of the way for the well earned victory with Patti Ryalnd collecting another second place finish.  Point leader Fred Ryland just beat Paul Mulder to the line for a third place finish.

Two time Wingless Spec Sprint champion Billy Macedo returned in a big way by winning that division’s 20 lap Main Event.  Macedo had a front row start, but Alan Miranda led the first three laps.  Macedo made an inside pass in Turn 4 on lap four to grab the lead.  Once Macedo had the lead, he was never seriously threatened as he scored the impressive victory.  Point leader Kyle Bakkie made a late move around Miranda on the back stretch to finish second.

Mike Hynes finally broke through to win his first 20 lap Limited Late Model Main Event of the season.  Hynes ran behind Lori Brown for 14 laps before Brown slowed with a steering issue.  Hynes led the restart with Jim Freethy shadowing his every move.  However, Hynes would not let his first win of the season get away as he won ahead of Freethy and a fast closing Larry Damitz.

Kimo Oreta pretty much clinched his third straight Hobby Stock championship with his seventh 20 lap Main Event win of the season.  Danny Jones led the first five laps before slowing with a motor problem.  That gave the lead to Michael Cooper, but Cooper surrendered the lead on the restart to Oreta.  Despite a few caution flags during the final 15 laps, Oreta remained the leader and would score the impressive victory.  Cooper enjoyed a season best finish in second ahead of past division champion Melissa Myers.

Racing resumes next Saturday night at Antioch Speedway with a five division show that will include DIRTcar Late Models, IMCA Sport Modifieds, BCRA Midget Lites, Hobby Stocks and CHA Hardtops.

Race Results
Saturday Night, August 15, 2015

IMCA Modified
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Aaron Crowell, Nick Viscusi III.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Crowell, Alex Wilson, Darrell Hughes II, Viscusi, Shawn DeForest.

IMCA Sport Modified
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Patti Ryland, Fred Ryland.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Anthony Giuliani, P. Ryland, F. Ryland, Paul Mulder, Al Sotomayor.

Wingless Spec Sprint
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Jimmy Perry III, Roy Fisher.  Main Event (20 laps)-Billy Macedo, Kyle Bakkie, Alan Miranda, Marcus Smith, Perry.

Limited Late ModelHeat Winners (6 Laps)-Mike Hynes, Lori Brown.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Hynes, Jim Freethy, Larry Damitz, Mike Gustafson, Mark Garner.
Hobby Stock
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Tony McCown, Melissa Myers.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Kimo Oreta, Michael Cooper, Myers, Natalie Perry, Cameron Swank.