Saturday, August 22, 2015

Decker Pads Point Lead With Victory At Antioch Speedway

First of all...

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback

Also, what could be a series of informative books...

Short Track History Project at Go Fund Me 

Additional info on the Short Track History Project  HERE

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

Decker Pads Point Lead With Victory At Antioch Speedway

Jeff Decker scored his second 20 lap DIRTcar Late Model Main Event victory Saturday night at Antioch Speedway.  Decker shot out of the gate like a cannon ball to lead from the start.  The race was marred by an eight car pileup on lap four that was triggered when Richard Papenhausen spun in Turn 1.  Papenhausen was out of the race.

Decker did not let the opportunity to add to his point lead over Papenhausen go to waste.  Decker resumed command on the restart and set a rapid pace in winning the race.  This left the battle for second, and Danny Malfatti battled Paul Guglielmoni to earn a season best second place finish.  Gugliemoni was the final lead lap finisher in third.

Trevor Clymens finally scored his first 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified feature win of the season.  Clymens had a front row start and at one point had full a straightaway lead.  When Clymens caught traffic late in the race, Anthony Giuliani moved up on his rear bumper.  However, Clymens made all the right moves to score a satisfying victory.  Giuliani was a close second as Rich Diaz outdueled point leader Fred Ryland for third.

Kevin Joaquin returned and scored his second 20 lap Hobby Stock feature win in two appearances.  Joaquin had a front row start and was never seriously threatened.  A lap 15 yellow flag erased his half-lap lead, but Joaquin still won by a straightaway ahead of fellow Merced visitor George Silva.  Second place point runner Jordan Swank won a late race battle with point leader Kimo Oreta to finish third.

Charlie Caracillo scored an impressive win in the 20 lap BCRA Midget Lites Main Event.  Caracillo was a top Sprint Car racer back in the 1990‘s, and he recently returned in a big way with a $1000 win in a BCRA Midget Lites race at Placerville.  Caracillo led all the way for the win and was never really challenged after Brian Corso broke while running second on lap ten.  Craig Dillard would finish second ahead of Dakota Albright.

Larry Damitz won the CHA Hardtop 15 lap Main Event.  The Limited Late Model point leader started back in tenth and reeled in a straightaway lead held by Rob Waldrop.  Damitz made his winning pass on the outside down the back stretch on lap 12.  Waldrop had led all but the opening lap and had a brush with the back well shortly after losing the lead.  As Damitz collected the win, Waldrop finished second with sparks shooting from underneath his car.  Tommy Thomson charged from 11th starting to finish third.

Racing resumes next Saturday night at Antioch Speedway with a seven division show that will include IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, Winged 360 Sprint Cars, Wingless Spec Sprints, Hobby Stocks, Limited Late Models and Dwarf Cars.

Race Results
Saturday Night, August 22, 2015

Late Models
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Richard Papenhausen,  Larry Damitz.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Jeff Decker, Danny Malfatti, Paul Guglielmoni, Mike Hynes, Damitz

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Trevor Clymens, Fred Ryland.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Clymens, Anthony Giuliani, Rick Diaz, F. Ryland, K.C. Keller.

BCRA Midget Lites
Heat Winners (8 Laps)- R.C. Smith,  Dakota Albright.  Main Event (20 laps)-Charlie Caracillio, Craig Dillard, Albright, Scott Kinney, Kayla Evans.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Russell Shearer, Jordan Swank.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Kevin Joaquin, George Silva, J. Swank, Kimo Oreta, Cameron Swank.

CHA Hardtops
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Rob Waldrop, Jason Armstrong,  Main Event (15 Laps)-Larry Damitz, Waldrop, Tommy Thomson, Dan Williams, Ken Clifford.