Sunday, September 27, 2015

Hogge Closes Season With $2000 Victory At Merced Speedway

First of all...

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

Also, what could be a series of informative books...

Short Track History Project at Go Fund Me 

Additional info on the Short Track History Project  HERE

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

Hogge Closes Season With $2000 Victory At Merced Speedway

Bobby Hogge IV won the 30 lap IMCA Modified Main Event Sunday night at Merced Speedway for a $2000 payday.  The two track event was billed as the Delta Valley Classic, and Hogge also scored a $2000 victory at Antioch Speedway on Saturday night.  He added a $500 bonus for winning both races.  Hogge started on the front row and drove a flawless race to lead every lap in victory.  Ethan Dotson ran second for most of the race to finish there, and Paul Stone came from 12th starting to finish third.

Fred Ryland crossed the finish line first in the IMCA Sport Modified Main Event, but he was disqualified in post race tech along with third place finisher Tim Cecil and fifth place finisher Steve Stone.  Ryland had won an early race duel with Chris Falkenberg before claiming the apparent win.  Falkenberg was elevated to victory with Ryland’s disqualification.  2014 champion Rick Diaz finished second ahead of Nick Spainhoward.

Cody Parker won the 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event.  Parker started back in the fourth row and ran a patient race grab second by lap eight.  Wally Kennedy had led from lap two, but Parker made an inside pass on the back stretch to grab the lead on lap 13.  Parker led the rest of the way for his second win of the season.  Kennedy spun out of second, and Austin Van Hoff scored the runner up finish ahead of Phil Vaughn.

Roy Hart Jr. won the 20 lap Limited Late Model Main Event.  Hart gained the lead from early leader John Evans on lap six and never looked back from there.  New champion Mark Garner had second until suffering a mechanical failure on lap 18.  Paul Hanley won a late race battle with Jeff Kendrick and Donny Richardson for the second place finish.

This race closed the 2015 season with championships being won by Alex Wilson (IMCA Modifieds), Josh Hensley (IMCA Sport Modifieds), Kevin Joaquin (Hobby Stocks), Mark Garner (Limited Late Models), Darren Miguel (Mini Stocks) and Mike Drake (Dwarf Cars).

Race Results
Sunday Night, September 27, 2015

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Kellen Chadwick, Kyle Wilson, Ethan Dotson.  Main Event (30 Laps)-Bobby Hogge IV, Dotson, Paul Stone, Alex Wilson, Kyle Wilson.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Jarred Tickel, Fred Ryland, Jimmy Ford, Gary Tucker.  Main Event (15 Laps)-Chris Falkenberg, Rick Diaz, Nick Spainhoward, Kelly Wilkinson, Andy Welch.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Robbie Loquaci, Ty Shelton, Wally Kennedy.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Cody Parker, Austin Van Hoff, Phil Vaughn, Dexter Long, Donnie Shearer.

Limited Late Models
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Roy Hart Jr.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Hart, Paul Hanley, Jeff Kendrick, Donny Richardson, Buddy Thatcher.