Saturday, September 26, 2015

Hogge Scores $2000 IMCA Modified Victory At Antioch Speedway

First of all...

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

Also, what could be a series of informative books...

Short Track History Project at Go Fund Me 

Additional info on the Short Track History Project  HERE

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

Hogge Scores $2000 IMCA Modified Victory At Antioch Speedway

Bobby Hogge IV returned to Antioch Speedway Saturday night and impressed with his second straight IMCA Modified Main Event victory,  Hogge’s win in the 30 lap race paid $2000.  Hogge started back in the third row and was quickly up to third.  Hogge followed Brian Cass into second on lap 7 when early leader Shawn DeForest pushed high in Turn 3.  Hogge followed closely behind Cass when his opportunity presented itself on lap 13.

The caution flag had flown, and Cass surprised by choosing the inside on the leader’s restart option.  Hogge raced by for the lead and was not challenged from there.  Cass held second until Paul Stone made an inside pass in Turn 4 on the 20th lap to take the spot.  Cass had a flat tire and pitted.  Hogge led the rest of the way for the impressive victory with Stone a comfortable second.  Ninth row starter Duane Cleveland beat Ryan McDaniel back to the checkered flag for the third place finish.

Larry Damitz won a wild 20 lap Limited Late Model Main Event for his eighth victory of the season.  The win solidified his fourth championship season in the last five years, and he had to come from the fifth row to do it.  Jim Freethy and Merced visitor Roy Hart Jr. battled for the lead for most of the race.  Freethy led the first ten laps before Hart finally made a high move in Turn 4 to grab the lead on lap 11.  Their battle came to an abrupt end when contact between the two sent Hart into the front wall for a lap 16 yellow flag.  Freethy then lost the lead to Damitz on the restart and pitted a lap later.  As Damitz came home with the win, Ryan Cherezian was a career best second ahead of Jay Bryant.

Newly crowned IMCA Sport Modified champion Fred Ryland collected his eighth win of the season in the 25 lap Main Event.  Ryland worked his way up from the fourth row into second by lap eight and took the lead from Anthony Giuliani with an inside pass in Turn 4 of the 16th lap.  Giuliani had led from the start, but his race ended in a hard crash on the back stretch on lap 20.  F. Ryland led the rest of the way for the impressive victory ahead of newly crowned Watsonville champion Matt Hagio and Al Johnson.

Chico star Brian Cooper appeared to win the 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event, but Jordan Swank was awarded the win after post race tech.  Cooper grabbed the lead on lap three and led through a series of restarts to score the apparent victory.  Danny Jones made a desperation last turn pass attempt, but he came up short as he crossed the line second.  Swank made a last turn pass on Robert Niven to cross the line third.  However, post race tech saw both Cooper and Jones disqualified.  Swank ended up winning ahead of Niven and Tony Jennings Sr.  With eight wins this season, Kimo Oreta had wrapped up the championship prior to this race.

A race has been tentatively scheduled for Saturday, October 24th.  The DIRTcar Late Models will headline the race along with Hobby Stocks and Dwarf Cars.  You can go to the track’s official website at for further information.

Race Results
Saturday Night, September 26, 2015

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Shawn DeForest, Mike Salazar, Brian Cass.  Main Event (30 Laps)-Bobby Hogge IV, Paul Stone, Duane Cleveland, Ryan McDaniel, Troy Foulger.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Patti Ryland, Matt Hagio.  Main Event (25 Laps)-Fred Ryland, Hagio, Al Johnson, Jimmy Ford, Mike Merritt.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Joey Ridgeway, Brad Myers, Robert Niven.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Jordan Swank, Niven, Tony Jennings Sr., Lindsey Buirch, Natalie Perry.

Limited Late Models
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Larry Damitz, Mike Gustafson. Main Event (20 Laps)-Damitz, Ryan Cherezian, Jay Bryant, Mark Garner, Cecil Henry.