Saturday, September 19, 2015

Obertello Outduels Hogge For Late Model Win At Antioch Speedway

First of all...

On Sale At Reduced Price

Don's California Racing Recollections:  Best Of The Blog And Beyond

Available via print on demand at Lulu in Hard Cover or Paperback

Just A Kid From The Grandstands:  My Time In Auto Racing

Available on Lulu in Paperback And Hard Cover

Also, what could be a series of informative books...

Short Track History Project at Go Fund Me 

Additional info on the Short Track History Project  HERE

DCRR Racing Media And PR Consulting  HERE

Obertello Outduels Hogge For Late Model Win At Antioch Speedway

Andy Obertello returned to action at Antioch Speedway for the first time this year Saturday night and won the 20 lap DIRTcar Late Model Main Event.  A champion in this division at Antioch  not too many years ago, Obertello had to earn this win in a thrilling battle with three time Antioch Modified champion Bobby Hogge IV and defending Late Model champion Richard Papenhausen.  The three cars ran closely for much of the race.

As the leaders hit slower traffic late, things got interesting.  Hogge made a strong inside move in Turn 2 as the leaders worked lap 18.  Hogge appeared to make that pass stick as he moved around a slower car on the back stretch, but Obertello regained the lead by the time they exited Turn 4.  Obertello held off Hogge for the final lap to score a thrilling victory.  Papenhausen settled for third ahead of new track champion Jeff Decker.

Doing double duty, Hogge also charged from the fifth row to win the 20 lap IMCA Modified Main Event.  Hogge steadily worked his way to the front.  The race only had one yellow flag on lap ten.  Chester Kniss led the first ten laps before Brian Cass and Hogge both slipped past him on the restart.  Hogge ran closely behind Cass until making an inside pass in Turn 3 on the 17th lap to grab the lead.  Once in front, Hogge went on to collect a well earned victory.  Cass settled for second ahead of Kniss.

Billy Macedo won his second 20 lap Wingless Spec Sprint Main Event of the season.  Macedo chased early leader Keith Shipherd down by lap six and made an inside pass in Turn 4 to grab the lead.  Once Macedo got the lead, he was unstoppable in victory.  Marcus Smith wrapped up a strong season in second in points by finishing a season best second in the Main Event.  Past champion Jim Perry Jr. charged to a third place finish.

Merced and Chowchilla champion Kevin Joaquin returned and won his third 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event.  Danny Jones led the first 14 laps of the race with Joaquin and Antioch point leader Kimo Oreta in close pursuit.  Joaquin made an inside pass on the front stretch to take the lead from Jones on lap 15.  Joaquin went on to victory from there.  Oreta passed Jones late, only to lose second to Jones at the line as he made contact with a slower car.  It was the sixth second place finish of the year for Jones as Oreta settled for third.

Fred Ryland was in the right place at the right time to win his seventh 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event of the season.  Ryland actually spun early in the race and was nearly lapped by race long leader Trevor Clymens.  Clymens had a few restarts to deal with late in the race, but he kept pulling away on the outside despite the presence of F. Ryland.  On the last lap, Clymens spun in the final turn.  F. Ryland managed to avoid him and drove by for the unexpected victory.  Patti Ryland was second for the second straight race as Al Johnson finished third.

Eric Berendsen appeared to have his first career 20 lap Limited Late Model Main Event victory, but a post race tech disqualification handed the win to point leader Larry Damitz.  Larry Damitz had a front row start and led the first 18 laps of the race.  A mid race restart allowed Berendsen to ride the outside line into second.  Berendsen’s opportunity came when Damitz made contact with a couple of slower cars on the front stretch while trying to lap them on Lap 17.  Damitz started to slow, and Berendsen made an outside pass to take the lead in Turn 4 on lap 19.  Berendsen went on to take the checkered flag first, but he was later disqualified in post race tech. Damitz saw his second place finish become another win as Lori Brown and Mark Garner were second and third.

Racing resumes on Saturday night with the Delta Valley Classic, headlined by the IMCA Modifieds along with IMCA Sport Modifieds, Limited Late Models and Hobby Stocks.  This is the last scheduled event of the year at Antioch Speedway, but there is a date being planned for October 24th.  Check out for more information as it comes.

Saturday Night, September 19, 2015

Race Results
DIRTCar Late Models
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Bobby Hogge IV, Andy Obertello.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Obertello, Hogge, Richard Papenhausen, Jeff Decker, Paul Guglielmoni.

Wingless Spec Sprints
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Billy Macedo, Jim Perry Jr. Main Event (20 Laps)-Macedo, Marcus Smith, Perry Jr., Keith Shipherd, Roy Fisher.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Trevor Clymens,Al Johnson  Main Event (20 Laps)-Fred Ryland, Patti Ryland, Johnson, Anthony Giuliani, Clymens.

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Carl Berendsen II, Alex Wilson.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Bobby Hogge IV, Brian Cass, Chester Kniss, Scott Busby, Berendsen.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Kimo Oreta, Natalie Perry.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Kevin Joaquin, Danny Jones, Oreta, Jim Robbins, Russell Shearer.

Limited Late Models
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Mark Garner, Jim Freethy.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Larry Damitz, Lori Brown, Garner, Freethy, Mike Hynes.